Living on your own

Photo Credit: Nebojsa Mladjenovic via Compfight cc

Photo Credit: Nebojsa Mladjenovic via Compfight cc

When  most people think about living on their own, they think about all the benefits.

For example, “I’ll be able to do what I want” and the ever so often “my parents can’t tell me what to do anymore!” come up frequently when talking about living on your own.

But what I have learned recently is that it is not all it is cracked up to be.

First, there is the awkward first day of meeting your new roommate (if you’re not living with friends) and figuring out whose stuff goes where and what you are willing to share and what you are not willing to share.

Then comes the realization that you are actually alone.

Like, really alone.

I am not trying to seem like living on your own is a bad thing, because it is actually a great experience, but I do not think that everyone understands the real importance of it.

I know for a fact that I did not.

BUT there is positive that you get out of living on your own!

So before you knock it, try it.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

